Hi!

Oh hey there, little neglected blog! It’s been too long… though I have been busy (in my defense). Also I’m pretty sure that two people read you, and one of them is my mom.

Hi mom!

I did approximately NO cooking whatsoever in the past month. (this is how I justified not blogging? vicious circle?) However, there were a few batches of homemade protein/lara/nut&fruit bars before that. They’re ridiculously easy and pretty awesome and refined sugar free! Also not my original idea, but they can be customized to individual tastes easily.

One cup (pitted) dates + one cup dried fruit(s) + one cup nuts –> food processor.

LOOK AT ALL OF THIS DRIED FRUIT.

LOOK AT ALL OF THIS DRIED FRUIT.

IMG_1620 IMG_1623

Once it’s all ground up in the food processor, just press it into a big square, refrigerate for a bit until it firms up, and cut into bars! I keep mine refrigerated or else they get mushy, but they’re delightfully sweet. And “healthy.” Right.

IMG_1631

IMG_1634

Aren't they cute?! So cute. And so cheap. And so easy. Go make them.

Aren’t they cute?! So cute. And so cheap. And so easy. Go make them.

I took these lil nuggets of goodness on my many travels over the past few weeks (see! they’re portable too! are you whipping out your food processor yet?) as well as to my two jobs. Since I can tell you are dying to hear about my busy June, I am going to tell you alllllll about it.

I went to a Hunter Hayes concert with my sister who is a diehard fan- so diehard that we drove two and a half hours to Gettysburg to see him. But it was worth it because he is adorable and excellent live and it was super cheap.

Hey there, Gettysburg.

Hey there, Gettysburg.

Also I got an ENORMOUS ice cream afterward. If you are like the rest of the world and have no idea who Hunter Hayes is, you should probably hang out with fifteen year olds more often, or click here (if you’re in the mood for something sad/lovey) or here (if you are in the mood for something happy/lovey. He’s big on romance).

IMG_1728

The next weekend I drove up to Providence to drop my sister off at a summer “program” (it’s like camp…. but not camp? educational = call it something fancy?) at Brown.

I wish I looked this good at fifteen. I don't actually think I allowed anyone to photograph me for that entire year. It was an awkward time...

I wish I looked this good at fifteen. I don’t actually think I allowed anyone to photograph me for that entire year. It was an awkward time…

But back to those two jobs, I had an internship downtown as well as an on-campus job that ate up seriously ALL OF MY TIME. It was awesome because I was learning things and meeting new people and all of that but I came home and crashed pretty much every day after work. “Golly,” you must be thinking,”how did you survive, Kat? Isn’t summer the season that’s supposed to make up for the rest of the year’s awful-ness? What did you do for fun?!”

I shopped. My internship was about a block away from all of my favorite stores and many a lunch break were spent in their gleaming, air-conditioned interiors.

I needed an internship wardrobe, okay?

I needed an internship wardrobe, okay?

But with the end of June came my long awaited summer FREEDOM! I celebrated with a fourth of July trip to New York, where I took exactly two pictures, neither of which were of food (or the Russian karaoke bar I went to on Thursday. But that’s probably a good thing).

IMG_1711 IMG_1712

And I’m back in suburban Pennsylvania for the immediate future! With no obligations whatsoever (and no paycheck…gulp) for the rest of the summer, I am looking for ways to spend my time. Any ideas? I should probably spend less time on Netflix, but with no excuse to get off the couch it’s tempting to go through the entire season of Call the Midwife in one night. Oh wait. I already did.

No, but really. Tell me what to do. Bake these nutella caramel diabetes-inducing brownies? Or this Snickers-inspired monstrosity? Are you drooling yet? Because there’s also some nutella puppy chow that caught my eye…

Feel free to comment with any ideas! Or other awesome looking baked goods! There will never be enough in my life! How is your summer going?

Leave a Reply

Archives

