sad fruit, happy bread

Is it weird to give food human attributes? When fruit starts to rot, instead of just saying it’s decaying, I call it sad. As in, “what a sad bowl of bananas. Yes, I know, a few days ago they seemed questionable but now they have just given up.”

As if they are suicidal. Suicidal bananas, guys.

Image

There were a few frowny bananas and a slew of sorrowful strawberries taking up valuable kitchen space, so I turned them into…. happy bread!

Image

I followed the recipe to a T, didn’t alter a thing, but it was so tasty I felt the need to share it anyways.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Yeah, that’s right. I dug in before I even bothered to take a picture. This is also the only evidence of a finished product because every time I thought “oh, I should put a piece on a plate like a normal person and set it on a pretty placemat and instagram it or something,” I decided that was a silly idea and ate it with my hands out of the pan. What a winner.

Alas, in the near future there will not be any banana strawberry bread for me because I am…. giving up refined sugar! Not forever, just for now. I have been meaning to do this for ages after seeing so many news stories about how it’s basically the devil incarnate. Giving it up seemed impossible and painful and really scary… which is why I thought I should probably try it. I will let you know how it’s going and I’m excited to try some healthy, nutrient dense recipes that will fit into this lifestyle. Any advice for taming my vicious sweet tooth?

I will leave you with cute animal pictures. Happy Tuesday!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

Archives

