preparing

During the past week, there has been quite a lot of thise

Image

And also some of this

Image

I visited my friend who goes to school about twenty minutes away, and on my way back into the city I saw some pretty cool murals on the side of the tracks. I had heard about them before but never seen them myself and I was thoroughly impressed.

Image

Image

Anyways, being so busy I often struggle to find the time to make edible meals and end up eating cereal and jellybeans for days at a time. Case in point:

Image

So I did just a little bit of preparing for the week ahead in the hopes that I can eliminate limit my cereal-based dinners.

Image

I started off by making a bunch of tofu for the week. As it’s my last (!!!!!) week of lent-induced veganism, I wanted to end it on a healthy note. I put this tofu in everything- salads, sandwiches, soups, I mean I’d eat it by itself if I had an unlimited supply. Just take a cube of firm tofu and slice it, press it, marinade it, sear it, and refrigerate.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

To marinade, I usually use soy vey (because it is the awesomest) but made my own this time using honey, soy sauce, and hot sauce. It was pretty tasty!

While my tofu was soaking up all of that goodness, I put together my other protein source for the week.

Image

Chickpeas and black beans, with some carrots and lime

Image

Image

Once again, convenience is key, at least for me. No matter how much I tell myself I’ll eat a salad or make a healthy sandwich, there’s no way I’ll do it if it takes more than ten minutes.

Image

Sweet potato (microwaved, people. five minutes on high. none of that twenty minutes in the oven crap, it tastes the same. trust me) with hummus, veggies, and baked tofu.

Image

Image

Today’s lunch! Just the baked tofu, beans, chickpeas, carrots, and some salsa over baby spinach.

Image

It may have taken 45 minutes to get everything together, but I now have a fridge full of ready-to-go deliciousness, and zero excuses to eat jellybeans (exclusively) for any remaining meal. Success!

Leave a Reply

Archives

