ketchup

How have two weeks passed since I posted??!! I guess midterms, spring break, and recovering from midterms & spring break take more time than I realized. But I have a boatload of pictures to share, so here we go…

What does Kat eat the week before vacation? Salads. Lots and lots of salads.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

They definitely brightened up my dreary February days. I knew I was going away and that I wouldn’t get  that many veggies over the next week, so I decided a preventative approach was the best one.

I also decided to do some cultural research before embarking on my trip. This included an entire spotify playlist of country music (hello Kacy Musgraves, my new favorite singer) and an….Elvis!

Image

…sandwich, that is. Seared bananas, peanutbutter, and toast.

Image

Any guesses where I went? Haha, juuuuust kidding you’re about to find out!

Due to budgetary restrictions, an overwhelming desire to see more of my own country after spending a few months elsewhere, and the romantic notion of roadtripping, I embarked on a journey from Philadelphia to New Orleans (and everywhere in between!) with a few friends. The results?

Image

A whole lotta road

Image

Some really incredible Southern breakfasts

Image

Some really …uh… generous? hotel breakfasts

Image

Just about all of Mississippi

Image

A few streetcars

Image

A very tasty vegan sandwich in Tuscaloosa, Alabama (and they say you can’t be vegan in the South! Pfft!)

Image

A somewhat purple veggie burger in nola

Image

Vampires…

Image

Beignets!

Image

Ze French Quarter

Image

And, of course, Graceland. I assume I look grumpy because of the weather- it may have been sunny but it definitely didn’t go above 60 all week. Hmph.

Overall, I had an amazing time roving around the country in the 1996 Honda Accord. I have never eaten that much fried food, seen that many cowboy boots, or slept so little in my life but I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Phew! Now that I’ve played ketchup, I’m going to do my best to be a more consistent blogger. Hope you’re all enjoying the first whiff of spring!

One response to “ketchup

  1. momster

    Did you get to ride your own scooter around Graceland?

Leave a Reply

Archives

