kale “nachos”

Alright, so I’m not a deeply religious person (I can’t remember the last time I went to church, but I know I didn’t go on Christmas. Or last Easter. What’s a step down from an Easter/Christmas Christian??) but every year I give something up for Lent. I like the challenge and also how awesome it makes Easter seem. Gorging on chocolate is definitely more fun if you’ve been chocolate-deprived for the previous forty days. Am I right or am I right?

So Ash Wednesday was last week and, right on schedule, I decided to go vegan.

I realize this sounds a little extreme and quite honestly it feels extreme to me right now, too. I have been a vegetarian for ages and recently cut back on dairy so I didn’t think it would be a huge step going “full vegan.” But I can honestly say, four days in, that I was totally wrong. I can’t eat (most) chocolate, I have to ask for soy milk for my coffee at Starbucks (yes—I’ve become THAT PERSON) and I also found out that most alcohol isn’t even vegan (which is kind of disturbing and also incredibly relevant because I’m turning 21 in less than a month!).

So I decided that cookin’ up something totally delicious and vegan would make me feel a little better. And it totally did!

To preface, these nachos aren’t… really… nachos. By which I mean that the kale chips are more of a base than chips you could actually pick up with all of the stuff on top of them. Unless you have super strong kale or something. Which I don’t.

Image

I started off by making the kale chips- just olive oil, salt, and kale baked for about 20 minutes at 400.

Image

While they were baking I chopped up a mango and a sweet potato

Image

Image

And put them each in their own lil pot/pan with a teensy bit of oil (I only have one pan so the mangoes got a pot. They survived but, uh, if anyone’s got an extra pan I’m, you know, in the market for one. Just sayin’)

Image

When the mango was slightly browned I combined it with my salsa… yeah that’s right. I MADE MANGO SALSA (okay, someone else made the salsa part but seriously I put it all together and I think that counts).

Image

The sweet potatoes took awhile to cook but by the time they were done, so were the kale chips.

Image

And then it got fun!

Image

black beanz

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I’m not a sour cream person but I guess that’s a good thing because vegan sour cream sounds terrifying. Plus these were so healthy that I saw absolutely no problem washing ‘em down with five [servings of] ginger snaps. Us vegans have to get our sugar from somewhere…

Leave a Reply

Archives

