reading & roasting

Instead of eating veggies, getting exercise, and, oh, I don’t know, breathing in fresh air over the past few days, I’ve been tackling these.

Image

The semester has definitely started to pick up, so I spent most of my weekend reading. Reading on the couch, reading in my bed, reading at my desk, reading on the subway… you get the picture.

The sad part is that I actually (used to) love reading. In addition to my stack of books for school, I do in fact have some books for fun.

Image

The problem is the sheer amount of reading I’m supposed to be doing.

Image

When I sit down and spend six hours reading for school, the last thing I want to do when I am done is pick up another book, no matter how interesting it may be. Hence my hulu addiction. (I started watching The Carrie Diaries last week. It’s a prequel to Sex and the City and is absolutely horrendous. People with self respect should stay away. Although clearly that hasn’t stopped me.)

So today I decided to stop reading, just for a few hours, and do something that got me out of the house dorm room. Turns out I had a lot of pent up energy because look what I pulled off at the gym!

Image

Uh huh, that’s right. I ran five miles on the treadmill. And I know it’s not that big of a deal, except as someone who suffers from major treadmill boredom it was actually pretty cool. I guess I just felt like moving today (FOR FIVE MILES! AH!)

I was so excited (can you tell?) by this that I decided to cook something when I got back from the gym. I mean actually cook, like, using appliances. And when I looked in my almost empty cupboard (how did that happen? I went grocery shopping like a week ago, right? Where did all the food go?!) I saw a can of chickpeas just calling my name.

Into the kitchen I went, chickpeas in hand.

Image

Notice anything missing in my kitchen? I mean other than a dishwasher? Yeah, I have no oven. Toaster oven to the rescue!

I rinsed my chickpeas and set them on a towel.

Image

Patted them until they were dry

Image

And put them in a bowl with olive oil, paprika, salt, peppah, and garlic powder.

Image

Okay, full disclosure: that’s not a bowl. In addition to no oven, I apparently also have no mixing bowls. But a pot works just as well, right?

Image

I spread the chickpeas on a [mini] baking sheet and popped them into the [toaster] oven for about thirty minutes, taking them out to toss ’em around every ten. Then end result?

Image

Little morsels of joy 🙂 I put some on top of my couscous for lunch and saved the rest in the fridge for soups, salads, and mindless snacking later on.

Image

Crispy Roasted Chickpeas

Adapted slightly from smittenkitchen

1 can chickpeas

1 generous tablespoon olive oil

¼ tsp salt

¼ tsp garlic powder

pinch of pepper & pinch of paprika

Preheat oven to 425. Drain and rinse the can of chickpeas. Using a dishcloth or paper towel, pat to dry. Once dry, combine chickpeas and the rest of the ingredients in a mixing bowl. Stir until the seasonings are mixed in evenly. When oven has preheated, cover a baking sheet with tinfoil (optional- I do it to save time on cleanup) and pour the chickpea mixture onto it. Make sure that the chickpeas are spread evenly and not overlapping on the baking sheet.

Insert into oven and after ten minutes, “toss” the chickpeas. Repeat until the chickpeas are golden brown and slightly shrunk from their original size. Take out tray and allow five minutes or so to cool. Chickpeas can be eaten immediately or stored in refrigerator for about a week to use later.

It was a nice break from my mountain of books, but I am sadly off to the library to continue death-by-homework. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Archives

